Goodbye to Google Plus: What It Means for You

A man holds a cellphone that displays multiple social media icons, including Google+.

The month of April typically brings about a lot of different changes, like warmer weather, new flower buds, and now, apparently, the death of the Google Plus platform. That’s right, for those of you who still use Google+, your +1ing days are officially numbered.
Still, even for people who don’t use the platform, the fact that Google+ is shutting down can be confusing. A Google product is getting discontinued. That’s always a cause for alarm.
Don’t worry, though. We’ve answered the top four questions you should ask before Google+ closes its doors forever.

What is Google+?

Google+ is a social media platform that Google rolled out back in 2011 as a way to compete with Facebook. Its main draws were a feature called “Circles” that allowed you to connect directly with friends in independent groups – think like a group chat before that was as common as it is now.
The other main draw of G+ was that it was supposed to help you link all of Google’s products together. Your Gmail account, Google ID, and Google+ accounts were supposed to flow seamlessly from one into the other to make a good user experience.
However, it never really caught on. As of 2018, Google+ had a reported 395 million active monthly users, as compared to Facebook’s 2.2 billion. Since Facebook was Google+’s main competitor, the numbers made one thing pretty clear: the fight was lost.

How will Google+ closing affect my other Google accounts?

This is a question that we’ve gotten from a lot of sources lately, and we’re happy to tell you, in short: it won’t.
Google+ was made to integrate with other Google platforms, but it was never a replacement for them. You’ll still have access to your Gmail, Google Ads, Google Analytics, and more.
Think of it as Facebook closing. Your account will disappear, but the email you use when you log in (does anyone actually remember their login information?) will still be completely fine. They’re separate entities.

I used Google+. Can I save my data?

You can! If you were an avid Google+ user and you want to save your stream data and more, all you have to do is head to Google Takeout, sign in, and choose what you want to save. Then hit “next” and download all of the information that you want to keep. It’s that simple!

What does this mean for other social platforms?

Google+ may be the death of a pseudo-giant, but it doesn’t mean that social media as a whole is going anywhere anytime soon. In fact, experts estimate that there will be 2.95 billion social media users by 2020. Now that’s nothing to sneeze at.
That number is why so many marketing companies are focusing their efforts on social media advertising. Almost every person in the United States has a social media platform. What better way to get your product right in front of those audiences?
 
Are you having trouble getting started with your social media strategy? Connect with us today to learn how we can help you reach your audience in the busy digital space.

What are you waiting for? Share this awesome post!

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email